I finally found my way to Spotify, and I’m loving it!

I have to admit, it took me really long to get an account over at Spotify’s. This is, because I do love buying CDs, I love the artwork, the feeling when unwrapping them, like a little present you made to yourself. What it actually is. I love listening to whole albums. And love listening actively to music. I love looking through my CDs – I got quite a few in the last 20 years – grabbing one album, putting it into the CD player and enjoying the music some artists made (just for me – and for some other people as well, maybe). Sure, you can listen to almost any album on the internet, just klick on it. Switch to another one or jump around listening to this or that. But I really dig the celebration of music. Just like coffee, you can have a quick one because just need a coffee break. Or you can take your time, grind the beans, set up the french press, wait a few minutes for the water to boil and a few more minutes till the coffee is done. Taking your time once in a while.

So I think I am more like one of those old school music listeners. BUT! I still think the internet is the best thing that happened to people that love music. The small town where I was born and raised had one single shop that sold vinyl and then CDs that belonged somewhat to the hard rock or heavy metal section. And they had just a handful of those, always from the bands we already knew so they had the chance to sell the albums. Getting new music was a matter of luck. Sometimes a friend of yours had some new band or even a compilation you could copy. Years later I was wondering how many awesome bands I never heard about just because none of my friends got a CD and I couldn’t aford to buy albums from bands via mail-ordering I never heard of. The internet changed that. You can find new bands like those guys from Milwaukee, WI you would never have heard about. Another important aspect is the fact that the music industry started to put some effort into the production of albums. 20 years ago CDs were packed in cheap plastic cases, mostly with booklets that were just as cheap. Now, you’ve got extra DVDs, appealing cases and booklets, some online extras and so on. Without the internet as a competition you’d get the same jewel cases they sold in the last millenium.

I signed up for several other music streaming services in the past but none of them worked out for me. So I wasn’t sure if Spotify will be the right thing. But as I enjoy searching for and listening to new music I decided to sign in to it a few days ago. And it is just great! Due to the reasons I listed above I do not think that it will substitute buying CDs in the near future. Or well, at least it won’t substitute buying albums because I think that one should support the artists behind the music. Just on a side note: here are two great bands to support: Wolfmother at bandcamp and Plan B.

Last week, I thought that it would be great to listen to the songs Metallica covered for their Garage, Inc. album so I started looking for them at Spotify. I found all but two songs (those two from Budgie). How much time would it take to find these songs somewhere else in the net? I guess you could buy 20 to 25 CDs to get them as well. Best thing, you can listen to them too, the playlist is just down there. And I’ll go and grab Metallicas Garage, Inc. CD now and enjoy it while having a french press coffee. Rock on!

Kommentar verfassen

